Located in the middle of the village with the same name, the monastery was commissioned by Stephen the Great, in 1496, to pay homage to the soldiers fallen in the White Valley battle against the Turks (1476). The foundation plaque placed on the south wall of the Church describes the defeat of Moldavia in the war for country and faith, and the reason behind the commission was to cherish the memory of the soldiers who followed the Prince in battle. Hence, the monastery is unique in the series of churches founded by Stephen the Great as it is also a mausoleum – the resting place of the remains of soldiers killed in battle, which can be found under the altar and the narthex slabs.
Dedication Day: “The Synaxis of Holy Archangels Michael and Gabriel” (8 November)
This tourist destination is part of the circuit: Roznov – Războieni – Roman